Do deleted Project Sites go to the Recycle Bin?

Posted By Posted by: EPM Partners on November 16, 2016

I was asked by a customer if deleted project sites can be recovered from the recycle bin.

The short answer is:

  • Yes, if you delete the site from Site Settings page.
  • No, if you delete the site from PWA Settings -> Delete Enterprise Objects page.

So to keep the project sites recoverable (other than restoring from SQL backups), the best practice is to only delete project from PWA Settings -> Delete Enterprise Objects page and delete the associated site by going to that project site and then Site Settings -> Delete this site page.

The longer explanation is below:

I did the following exercise to prove that project sites that are deleted from Delete Enterprise Objects do not go to recycle bin, where as project sites deleted from Delete this Site page do go to recycle bin. Please see the exercise details below:

  1. I created two projects:
    1. _Project Site – Site deleted from Server Settings
    2. _Project Site – Site deleted directlypic-1
  2. Then I went to Server Settings -> Delete Enterprise Objects and deleted _Project Site – Site deleted from Server Settingspic-2
  3. After waiting for Queue job to process, I went to Admin recycle bin (Site Actions -> Site Settings -> Recycle Bin under site collection administration)
    pic-3
  4. I could not find the deleted site in the recycle bin
    pic-4
  5. I went to the Project site of _Project Site – Site deleted directly
  6. Clicked on Site Actions -> Site Settings -> Delete this site
    pic-5
  7. After confirming the delete warning, I went to Admin recycle bin again
  8. This time, I was able to find the deleted project site in Deleted from end user Recycle Bin view
    pic-6

In light of the above exercise, I concluded that Project sites that are deleted via Delete Enterprise Objects, do not go to recycle bin.

My recommendation is to keep the check box Delete the associated Microsoft SharePoint Foundation sites? unchecked on Delete Enterprise Object page. This checkbox is unchecked by default any way. After the project schedule is deleted. Go to the project site directly and delete the site from it’s site settings page.


Blog Posted In Blog Posted In: How to, Project Server
Blog Posted In 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *