How to Archive/Hide a Project in the Project Centre

Posted By Posted by: EPM Partners on May 1, 2014

Environment: Project Server 2007, Project Server 2010, Project Server 2013

Solution: There are two options to hide projects in the project centre as per below:

 

Option 1: Set the project filter for the project centre view based on enterprise custom field. For instance, custom field has the following values – Archived, Live, On-hold.

Below are the steps to hide the projects in a project centre view:

1. Logon to Project Web App. Click on Server Settings > Manage Views > Click on Project Centre View in which you don’t want to see the ‘Archived’ Projects. Refer to the snapshot below:

b2

 

2. Apply the filter using the Enterprise field in your environment. For example, we have used the ‘Project Status’ field as per the below snapshot for the Project Centre Summary view.

b3

 

 Option 2: Daily Schedule Back up/Administrative Back up

1. Configure the daily schedule back up, or perform the administrative back up as per TechNet link below –

Daily schedule back up:       http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj590896(v=office.15).aspx

Administrative back up:     http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd207304(v=office.15).aspx

 

2. Make sure to validate the project availability in the archive database before you delete it. Steps as below:

Launch Project Web App > Server Settings > Administrative Restore

b4

 

3. Once you have confirmed the project availability in the archived database then you are ready to delete the project so that it won’t appear in the Project Centre. Here are the steps:

Project Web App > Server Settings > Delete Enterprise Objects > Select the project you want to delete > Make sure the option ‘Delete the associated Microsoft SharePoint Foundation sites is not ticked.  Refer snapshot below:

Note: In case you need to restore the deleted project in the future, then you can associate the existing Project site after restoring the Project. If you tick this option while deleting your project then the Project site will be deleted permanently as Daily Schedule back up/Administrative back up doesn’t archive a Project site.

b5


Blog Posted In Blog Posted In: How to, Project Server
Blog Posted In 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *