Updating a Project Site Template

Posted By Posted by: Cheston Hsu on June 26, 2019

The Project Site Template dictates the look, feel as well as the contents of a project site when created. Hence, it is extremely important that any changes that are made on the template are changes that you would like to see on your FUTURE project site.

The below is a guide on how to update a project site template, under the premise that there is one already in place:

  1. To start, navigate to PWA Settings and find out what site template is currently in use. To do this, first navigate to your homepage and click the cog on the top right-hand corner and then click PWA Settings.

  1. In the PWA Settings homepage, click Enterprise Project Types.

  1. On the Enterprise Project Types page, click the Enterprise Project Type (EPT) that has the site template that you wish to modify.

  1. On the selected EPT, scroll down to the bottom to find the name of the Site Template that you want to modify.

  1. Now that we know what the name of the Site Template is, we will create a new subsite from it to make the modifications on it. To do this, click the cog at the top right-hand corner (as shown in step 1) and click Site Contents.

  1. On the Site Contents homepage scroll down until you see the New Subsite button and click it.

  1. On the New Subsite page, enter a title of the new subsite, and have the same name for the URL. Once this is entered, click the Custom tab beneath the Select a Template area. Within the Custom tab, click on the Site Template that you would like to create a new subsite from.
    Ensure that the User Permissions is set to Use same permissions as parent site; the Navigation configuration must be set to No; and the Navigation Inheritance is also set to No.

  1. Once those fields have been set, click Create and a loading screen will appear.

  1. After the loading screen, you will be taken to the homepage of the new site. Now begins the modifications that you wish to implement to prepare for the next template. Modifications include but are not limited to:
    • Add/remove SharePoint list or libraries
    • Modifying views
    • Add/remove documents to the Project Documents folder
    • Add/remove columns
    • Add/remove/modify workflows

  1. Once changes have been made, it is now time to save the template. To do this, click the cog on the top right-hand corner of the screen then click Site Settings.

  1. On the Site Settings homepage, click Save site as template.

  1. On the Save as Template homepage, fill in all of the fields but most importantly ensure that the Include Content checkbox is ticked if you wish to include content such as documents in a library.

Once done, click OK and a loading page will appear.


  1. After the loading screen, the below will appear:

To view the other Site Templates that are currently in place, you can click on the Solution Gallery link. By default the newly created site template will have a Status of Activated meaning that it can be chosen as a new site template on the Enterprise Project Types page.


  1. The next step is to assign this new solution to an Enterprise Project Type for usage. To do this, navigate to the cog in the top right-hand corner and click PWA Settings.

  1. On the PWA Settings homepage, click Enterprise Project Types.

  1. On the Enterprise Project Types page, click the Enterprise Project Type (EPT) that has the site template that you wish to modify.

  1. On the selected EPT, scroll down to Site Template at the bottom. Then click the drop down arrow and choose the newly created Site Template. Now that it’s set, all NEW projects will use this new template. Old projects that use this same Enterprise Project Type will not be changed.

Additional Suggestions

Now that a new Site Template/Solution has been created, the common asked question is “How do I remove the other Site Templates that are not in use?”

It is good practice to remove old ones from view, to reduce confusion for other users, keep the site tidy and reduce the clutter on the page. To remove a Site Template/Solution follow these steps:

  1. At the root level of the site collection, click the cog in the top right-hand corner of the screen then click Site Settings.

  1. On the Site Settings homepage, click Solutions.

  1. On the Solutions homepage, you will be able to see all of the Site Templates that have been created in the past. To Deactivate an old Site Template, tick the box next to the Site Template that you wish to deactivate, then on the new pop-up, click deactivate again.

Once the deactivate button has been clicked wait for about 30 seconds and refresh the page. You will now notice that the chosen Site Template will no longer display the text Activated under the Status column.


Blog Posted In Blog Posted In: Blog, How to, Project Online
Blog Posted In