Why when I upload multiple files to a workspace are they automatically checked out

Posted By Posted by: Dan Stopher on October 5, 2010

In a typical SharePoint document library you can use the “Upload Multiple Files”, or use drag & drop in Explorer View, to upload multiple files or folders quickly and easily.

However sometimes the files are kept in “Checked out” mode and will not be available for others until they are checked in.
This is because to the setting under versioning settings “Require documents to be checked out before they can be edited” – has been set to “Yes”  by the system administrator to get the most out of the version control options.

So rather than check each file in one at a time, after uploading multiple files you can do a bulk check in of all your checked out files (or in this case of all the files you just uploaded).

1.       Open Site Settings
2.       Click on Content and Structure
3.       Then from the view menu, select “Checked Out To Me”

 

4.       You can then select all files and ‘check in’ in bulk from the Actions menu.

 

 


Blog Posted In Blog Posted In: How to, SharePoint
Blog Posted In Comments Off on Why when I upload multiple files to a workspace are they automatically checked out